Wudang Mountain: Wellkown for Taoist culture


Buildings alongside the stone path in Yu Xu Palace, dubbed as the Forbidden City in the south.

Situated in Shiyan city of northwestern part of Hubei province, Wudang Mountain is renowned as China’s Taoist holy mountain and was listed by UNESCO as a World Cultural Heritage Site in 1994.


A bird’s eye view of buildings on the peak of Tian Zhu mountain, the highest one of the Wudang Moutain.

Wudang Mountain (武当山) consists of 53 ancient buildings covering an area of 27,000 square meters. It has preserved about 5,035 pieces of culture relics in total.


Ornaments on the top of ridge in Tian Xu Palace.

The ancient building complexes in Wudang Mountain were first built in the years of Zhen Guan period (627-649) of Tang Dynasty, and reached its peak in the Ming Dynasty. Emperors from all ages constructed and renovated it over and over again as royal temples.


Situated among steep cliffs, Nan Yan Palace is famous for its astonishing geographic beauty.

It was during the reign of Yong Le period (1403-1424) in the Ming dynasty that the Palace Museum in the north and Wudang Mountain in the south were built at the same time. Emperor Zhu di of the Ming Dynasty spent millions and employed 300,000 people per day to build 33 units of architectural complexes including nine halls, eight temples, 36 nunneries, 72 rock temples, 39 bridges and 12 pavilions. During the Jiaqing period (1796-1820) of the Qing Dynasty, they were renovated and expanded again.


A Tai Chi sign is seen in the Zi Xiao Palace originally built in 1413. The original buildings include more than 860 smaller palaces, galleries, verandas, halls and pavilions.